State child abuse registries

The type of information contained in central registries and department records varies by state. Some states maintain all investigated reports of abuse and neglect in their central registries, while others maintain only substantiated reports. The length of time the information is held and the conditions for removal also vary by state.

To update a state listing, please email cpowell@adoptuskids.org using the subject line “child abuse registry change.” You can also call Craig, 410-636-7035.

Alabama
Form and instructions: Alabama Department of Human Resources website

Contact: Harold Brown
334-353-3477 or harold.brown@dhr.alabama.gov

Alaska
Form and instructions: Office of Children’s Services website

Contact: Ken Saucier
907-269-4026 or kenneth.saucier@alaska.gov

Arizona
Form and instructions: Not available online

Contact: Gail Martinez
602-255-2897 or GMartinez@azdes.gov

Arkansas
Form and instructions: Arkansas Department of Education website

Contact: Ron Tolson
501-682-0405 or Ron.Tolson@Arkansas.gov

California
Form and instructions: California State Department of Justice Office of the Attorney General website

Contact:
916-227-5052 or CACI-Inquiry@doj.ca.gov

Colorado
Form and instructions: Colorado Office of Early Childhood website

Contacts:
Shauna Snider
303-866-4614 or Shauna.Snider@state.co.us
Sharron Cook
303-866-4612 or Sharron.Cook@state.co.us

Connecticut
Form and instructions: Department of Children and Families website

Contact: Dakibu Muley
800-842-2288 or Dakibu.Muley@ct.gov

Delaware
Form and instructions: State of Delaware website

Contact: Beth Kramer
800-292-9582

District of Columbia
Form and instructions: Child and Family Services website

Contact: Child Protection Register
202-727-8885 or cfsa@dc.gov

Florida
Form: Florida Department of Children and Families

Contact: Janice Mullen
Adamwalsh.requests@myflfamilies.com

Georgia
Form and instructions: not available online

Contact: Constituent Services
georgiaadamwalshcheck@dhs.ga.gov

Guam
Form and instructions: not available online

Contact:
671-475-2653/2672 or Linda.rodriguez@dphss.guam.gov

Hawaii
Form and instructions: Department of Human Services website

Contacts:
Tonia Mahi
808-832-0609 or TMahi@dhs.hawaii.gov
Karlyn Kitamori
808-832-5052 or kkitamori@dhs.hawaii.gov

Idaho
Form and instructions: not available online

Contact: Fernando Castro
208-332-7990 or castrof@dhw.idaho.gov

Illinois
Form and instructions: Illinois Department of Children and Family Services website (search for “689 background check”)

Contact:
217-557-0758 or cfs689background@illinois.gov

Indiana
Form and instructions: Indiana Department of Child Services website

Contact: Scott Hood
317-234-5002 or Background.CheckUnit@dcs.IN.gov

Iowa
Form and instructions: Iowa Department of Human Services website (search for form 470-0643)

Contact:
800-362-2178 or DHSAbuseRegistry@dhs.state.ia.us

Kansas
Form and instructions: Department for Children and Families website

Contact: Child Abuse/Neglect Central Registry
785-246-7961, 785-296-4377 or centralregistry@dcf.ks.gov

Kentucky
Form and instructions: Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services website

Contact: Erika Bauford
502-564-3834 or erikad.bauford@ky.gov

Louisiana

Form and instructions: Department of Children & Family Services website

Contact: Anthony Ellis
225-342-6827 or DCFS.ChildProtectiveServices@LA.GOV

Maine
Form and instructions: not available online

Contact: Amber Casey
800-452-1999, ext. 2 or Amber.Casey@maine.gov

Maryland
Form and instructions: Maryland Department of Human Resources

Contact: Patricia Walker
410-767-8821 or patricia.walker@maryland.gov

Massachusetts
Form and instructions: not available online

Contact: Kim Sportman
800-792-5200 or kim.sportman@state.ma.us

Michigan
Form and instructions: Michigan Department of Health and Human Services website

Contact: Ann LaHaine
517-284-9714 or Lahainea@michigan.gov

Minnesota
Form and instructions: not available online

Contact: Stephan Sarumi
651-431-6603

Mississippi
Form and instructions: Mississippi Department of Human Services website

Contact: Pearl Holloway
800-222-8000 or mscentralregistry@mdhs.ms.gov

Missouri
Form and instructions: Missouri State Highway Patrol website (scroll to bottom of page)

Contact: Sara Smith
573-751-2330 or Sara.E.Smith@dss.mo.gov

Montana
Form and instructions: State of Montana website (search for form “DPHHS-CFS/LIC018”)

Contact: Child & Family Services Division
406-841-2400

Nebraska
Form and instructions: Nebraska Department of Health & Human Services

Contact: CPS Central Registry
402-471-9272 or Dhhs.CFSCentralRegistry@nebraska.gov

Nevada
Form and instructions: Division of Child & Family Services website

Contact: Bruce Cole
775-684-7941

New Hampshire
Form: Department of Health and Human Services (88 KB PDF)

Contact: Susan Hallett-Cook
603-271-8383

New Jersey

Form and instructions: Department of Children and Families website

Contact: Judith Williams
855-744-4913

New Mexico

Form and instructions: Children, Youth & Families Department website

Contact: Loretta Perea
800-610-7610 or CYFD.PSCriminalReco@state.nm.us

New York
Form and instructions: Office of Children and Family Services website (type “Adam Walsh” into search field)

Contact: Roberta Frederick
518-474-8740

North Carolina
Form and instructions: Division of Social Services website

Contact: Child Welfare Policy Section
919-527-6340

North Dakota
Form: “Child Abuse and Neglect Background Inquiry” (465 KB PDF)

Contact: Tara Reed
701-328-1846 or dhscfscbc@nd.gov

Ohio
Form and instructions: Department of Job and Family Services

Contact: Barbara Parker
Barbara.Parker@jfs.ohio.gov or 866-635-3748, option 2

Oklahoma
Form and instructions: Oklahoma Department of Human Services

Contact: Charlotte Kendrick
405-521-3811 or Charlotte.Kendrick@okdhs.org

Oregon
Form and instructions: not available online

Contact: Adam Walsh Coordinator
Adam-Walsh.Oregon@state.or.us

Pennsylvania
Form and instructions: Pennsylvania Department of Human Services website

Contact: Tracey Isom
800-932-0313 or tlsom@state.pa.us

Puerto Rico
Form and instructions: not available online

Contact: Lisa Agosto Carrasquillo or Melissa Viana-Salas
787-625-4900, ext. 1728 or ejrivera@adfan.pr.gov

Rhode Island
Form and instructions: not available online

Contact: Jan Mitchell
800-742-4453

South Carolina
Form and instructions: not available online

Contacts:
Barbara Atiba: 803-898-7710 or Barbara.Atiba@dss.sc.gov
Grace Riley: 803-898-7710

South Dakota
Form and instructions: Department of Social Services website

Contact: Nicole LeBeau
605-773-3227 or nicole.lebeau@state.sd.us

Tennessee
Form and instructions: Department of Children’s Services website

Contact: Genora Wilson
615-532-9856 or EI-DCS-Provider.Backgroundcheck@tn.gov

Texas
Form and instructions: Texas Department of Family and Protective Services website (search for form 2970)

Contact: Centralized Background Check Unit
800-645-7549 or TXAbuseNeglectBGC@dfps.state.tx.us

Utah
Form and instructions: State of Utah (98 KB PDF)

Contact: Nora Wilson
801-538-4466 or norawilson@utah.gov

Vermont
Form and instructions: Department for Children and Families website

Contact: Dianne Jabar
802-241-6474 or Dianne.jabar@state.vt.us

Virginia
Form and instructions: Department of Social Services website

Contact: Betty Whittaker, Central Registry Supervisor
800-552-7096 or betty.whittaker@dss.virginia.gov

Virgin Islands
Form and instructions: Not available online

Contacts:
Phone: 340-774-0930, ext. 4393
Carla Benjamin: carla.benjamin@gmail.com
Janet Turnbull-Krigger: turnbullkrigger@yahoo.com

Washington
Form and instructions: Department of Health and Human Services website

Contact: Lucy McCornell
800-562-5624 or CANhistorychecks@dshs.wa.gov

West Virginia
Form and instructions: Not available online

Contact: Cher O’Brien
800-352-6513 or fc697@wvdhhr.org

Wisconsin
Form: Department of Children and Families Division of Safety and Permanence (34 KB Word doc.)

Contact:
CWBckgrdRequests@wisconsin.gov

Wyoming
Form and instructions: Department of Family Services

Contacts:
Stephanie Ross: 307-777-5894 or sross@wyo.gov
Heidi Teasley: 307-777-5491 or heidi.teasley@wyo.gov

To update a state listing, please email cpowell@adoptuskids.org using the subject line “child abuse registry change.” You can also call Craig, 410-636-7035.

Obtaining International Records and Documents

The US Department of State maintains tables of “Reciprocity and Civil Documents by Country.” These tables include country-specific information for how to obtain international police clearance and a wide range of other documents. In general, a table will indicate if a foreign resident of the country can obtain the required document, and if so, the procedure for accessing it. To find information using these tables, choose a country from the drop-down menu. On the country webpage, use the menu on the left side of the screen to select the type of documents and records (e.g., “general documents”, “police, court, prison records”) you are seeking.

Additional Resources on Child Abuse Registries and Interjurisdictional Child Welfare Work